OPINION PIECE: ITS NOT WHAT YOU WEAR, ITS HOW YOU WEAR IT.

Fashion is constantly changing, like honestly, how many of us can say we don’t like to follow the latest trends. Trends help give us more knowledge on fashion, however do teens or even fashion enthusiasts take this a tad bit overboard ? Well in some ways they do as keeping up with these trends tend to increase the amount of pressure on an individual. Coco Chanel once said, ‘fashion is made to become unfashionable’, therefore this makes me question if there is really any need for people to try so hard to keep up with it.

 

(photo cred: Elle magazine)

At the University of Westminster, I asked a range of students whether they feel the need to shop the latest trends, and if so why. Anita Ogunlade replied saying, ‘Well,  personally I enjoy fashion, I like looking at what is considered to be in style and out of style. I would rather be for fashion than against it’. On the other hand Mya smith also a student at the University  stated, ‘Honestly, I don’t like to follow the trends whatsoever, whats the point if it keeps changing constantly, it’s simply a waste of money’.

Research shows individuals that ignore fashion trends tend to have insecurity issues. I interviewed Charles Mayham, a student at the university of the arts, here’s what he had to say. – ‘During my days in secondary school I was bullied for the way I dressed, hence I turned to video games for comfort instead of worrying about fashion’.

Over the years various tweets and Instagram posts are uploaded explaining the latest fashion trends, what to buy and what not to buy, fashion mistakes and others (below are a few examples):

by Whitney Ajudua

Leave a Reply

